BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! Newbie here. Although I've always been a car guy and have owned several 4X4s I've never installed a lift kit in one. Anyone have any suggestions on the best way (suspension vs body lift) to lift a 96 4dr Jimmy? My budget for the lift is about $1000, less is better though. I don't want a ridiculous lift just enough to get slightly bigger tires on for some of the logging roads I take to go fishing. Any suggestions on places in town or local websites with prices and info would be great too. Thanks a lot!

·
Premium Member
1,362 Posts
Body lifts are generally cheaper, but I have seen many bodies crack after time due to the body lift not being properly installed and/or looked after. suspension lifts will give you more articulation and a better ride off-road. being a 96 it has IFS so a susp lift will probably be expensive.

------------------
Coquitlam Crawlers
------------------
1974 Dodge W100 Power Wagon BROKEN :(
Looks beaten up but it's fun.
360 V8, TF-727, NP-205, D44 front, chrysler 8 3/4" rear with detroit locker
http://members.shaw.ca/jaretthumphrey

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Call some places like Illusions and Sport trucks (mention bc4x4.com if you call sport trucks), I think it's probably possible to get some cheap coil spacers for the front end and maybe some lift blocks for the rear?

------------------
Stock 2000 Jeep TJ Sport
(I don't know anything, don't listen to my advice)

·
Registered
2,324 Posts
A susp. lift for this IFS set up will be around $2000 plus and the brand choices will be very limited.

------------------
Shopping List...
15"x8" wheels 5x5.5" BCD
[email protected]

·
Registered
83 Posts