BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 119 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was reading a popular 4X4 book the other day (you know the one) and the author claims that most 4X4ers are “working” people. Ok, what does that mean? The author claims that this contributes to the problem that off-roaders have with reputation. Sorry, but I don’t subscribe to this theory. So I ask what do you do for a living? So as not to seem like a hypocrite, I work in “middle management” for publicly traded company. To clarify: I lead a small team of hard working sales people.

Everyone, thank you for your replies! I can't believe how many posts and views my little thread got. I’ve defiantly come to the conclusion that 4X4ers are a diverse group made up of mostly middle and upper middle class people, perhaps contrary to the opinions of many BMW driving "professionals". :beer ;) :D :cool:

·
Registered
237 Posts
Today i am a landscaper

tommorrow I might be quitting that and working in a steel fab. place painting I - beams

·
Registered
100 Posts
uh.. I fill the stereotype quite well.. I work for Lordco, (shipper/reciever/driver) but I'm in school at SFU so it kinda works. You wanna get me a job?? I want a cushy desk job, plus I really want to get rid of the drivers tan. One arm is dark brown, the other pasty white.

·
Registered
2,513 Posts
I think that stereotype is dead. The wheelers I know come from all walks of life. Some barely scape enough money together for gas and others drive rigs worth $100,000+.

Me? I make video games.

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
I think he means we are working class, which can describe anyone who gets up and goes to work in the morning. Unless of course you don't have to get up because the millions you invested are getting fantastic returns!
I work as an RN in the O.R, and I am totally working class!