BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Allrighty now....

I know that 225/75/15 (Some even say 235) are the largest tires that will fit on a stock Sidekick without rubbing. Question is, will they fit on the stock alloy rims? Right now I have 205/75/15's, and I just wanted to make sure that the 225's won't be too wide for the rim.

Pardon the noobie-ness, as i'm just getting into wheeling. Been a rally nut / import tuner thus far, till I went up to Stave this summer. Got to a point where I needed more clearance to go any further.... now i'm determined to get some more clearance and tackle that SOB!

:canadian :beer

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
I run 235/75/15 Dunlop Mud Rovers on my then stock sidekick for two years. They did not rub almost at all. The only time they touched the frame was at full turn when the wheel which was turned - so its back was facing in had all the weight on it. Very insignificant. The rim is big enough. Don't listin to some tire shops that will swear they won't fit. They will. Gofor it.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I wouldn't really go 30x9.5 on 5.5 wide rims, unless you don't go offroading. When you air down you'll have a real big chance in blowing a bead. Not saying you will but a bigger chance.

urban_offroad

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Yoy may not believe Urban offroad, because he is selling his set, so you may think he is biased, but he is right. I think 30/9.5 are in the range of pushing your luck. I'd stay with 235s.

·
Registered
229 Posts
I will second the 235 movement. Most tire shops wont put a 30 on a 5.5 rim. Not to mention the rubing on the frame. Ewwww.

I had to throw my spaces to get rid of my rubbing. Mind you my rims are not that offset.

·
Registered
83 Posts
MudKick said:
Yoy may not believe Urban offroad, because he is selling his set, so you may think he is biased, but he is right. I think 30/9.5 are in the range of pushing your luck. I'd stay with 235s.