BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total newbie interested in doing some wheeling.

My question is this. I need to get a new commuter vehicle to use for a couple of years. I am thinking of getting a used vehicle that is already capable for doing some basic wheeling, but can be setup later for more serious play. One item that would be helpful, however, would be some cargo space.

So, what vehicles fit this bill?

1.) Jeep TJ/YJ. Wheeling capable even stock. Low on cargo

2.) 4Runner, cargo room, but I don't know what their wheeling capability really is

3.) Pickup (SR5 or sim.) same as 4Runner?

Any suggestions as to what would work? I'm sure a Jeep would be the most fun right off, but I would appreciate any advice, as well as models/features to either look for or avoid for any vehicles!

Thanks,
Chris

·
Superfly
8,221 Posts
Originally posted by Chris Epp:
I am thinking of getting a used vehicle that is already capable for doing some basic wheeling, but can be setup later for more serious play.
Chris, please define "serious play." I know a lot of guys say that their 4x4 can handle any trail they come across but the fact is, we haven't all come across the same trails. If you want to run the hardest of the hard trails around here and in Washington, you will either have to be willing to put up with a dented long wheelbase or go with a short wheelbase 4x4.

4Runners are great 4x4s but I haven't seen any with straight body panels that run the super tight trails. If you want Toyota, go for a shortbox pickup.

...lars

------------------
19911995409993004:144444.103512.58274

Join | BC4X4 | .com

·
Registered
2,962 Posts