BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
if you disconect your sway bar, is it ok for daily driving? or do you just do it when you get to the trail and thats it?!?!? or do you do it just when yer leaving maybe fo rthe hour drive it takes to get to the trail?!?!? any suggestions welcome....

------------------
'88 xj, on 33's fun in the mud.

·
Registered
16 Posts
good question i recently had a 4'' suspension installed on my bronco 2.my truck already came with a 3'' body lift.i drove it from surrey to chilliwack. and almost rolled it on the freeway 10 times. beleive me i nearly killed myself.any little bump in the road i hit caused my rear end to fish tail. its almost impossible to drive fast, with them out.the shop actually forgot to install them while putting in my lift.i went back the next day and had them put in,now i remain to scared to disconnect them, one scary experience!im new to the sport ,youre 4x4 may behave differently,but get a proffessional opinion,before driving fast!!!

·
Registered
193 Posts
It completly depends on the individual vehicle. One thing I will says is that if your rig is raised a lot, especially a big body lift (like a 3 inch) then i is a good idea to get quick disconnects. They are easy to fabricate. check out this link.
http://www.off-road.com/toyota/cheaptricks/swaybar2/

------------------
93' x-tra cab. I hate my IFS. Ya I know your rig is better than mine.

·
Superfly
8,221 Posts
Originally posted by mud hound:
if you disconect your sway bar, is it ok for daily driving? or do you just do it when you get to the trail and thats it?!?!? or do you do it just when yer leaving maybe fo rthe hour drive it takes to get to the trail?!?!? any suggestions welcome....
Get a set of swaybar quick disconnects and keep your swaybar connected when on the street. IMO, XJ suspensions are too soft to run on the street w/o the swaybar.

...lars

------------------
19911995409993004:144444.103512.58274