BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally have scrapped some money together to start looking for a truck. It's only $1500, but that's a lot to a 17 year old! I'm mainly looking for a nice little truck like a Samurai, Toyota (Pick-up or 4Runner), or something.

My two problems come when I need it to be a daily driver and I have little mechanical knowledge. Any suggestions on what I need to look for, and where to look?

It look me about 2 years to get this much money, so saving more money isn't a very good option

------------------
Goof
------------------
Hot Wheels Safari Hummer

·
Premium Member
1,541 Posts
I say get an old toy or a cj jeep. They both handle well offroad and will make a good project

------------------
92 Jeep YJ with 1 inch shackle lift and a 2 inch body lift running 31's

·
Superfly
8,221 Posts
With $1500 and not much extra in the foreseeable future, I think your absolute, major concern must be with reliability. Old Toyotas and Jeeps are great BUT good luck trying to find one without frame rust. A Suzuki is probably going to be your best bet if you can find one for that cheap. If you do, it will probably have body rust around the rear fenders which is extremely difficult to fix well...but you can patch it up with fiberglass if you're not too concerned about the looks.

Once you get a vehicle, you'll have to budget money for tools and emergency supplies.

And then you'll have to avoid beating on it at Stave Lake (mud and peer pressure [and drunks] is a great way to destroy your vehicle). If you drive it responsibly and take the time to learn and practice automobile maintenance, it should last you a good long time and be a great first vehicle.

Remember, get a RELIABLE vehicle. Looks is secondary. I know it's difficult as a 17-year old to absorb that but please try. ;-)

...lars

------------------
19911995409993004:144444.103512.58274

Join | BC4X4 | .com

·
Registered
237 Posts