BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Folks,

I'm in the market to buy myself a newer Fullsize truck and would like a little info on what I'm getting myself into. I've been driving a jeep for the past 5 years but was born in a Chev!!! and would like to go back to my roots.

I'm looking for a 94 to 98 3/4ton ext. Cab Long box 4x4. I would prefer a diesel but a gas will do and an automatic over a standard.

Anyway, What trannies(auto, std.) come in these years, what t/cases, and axles. Is there anything I should be on the look out for when looking for a deal. What are some of their problems, pros and cons, etc. What prices would I be looking to spend? Is there one option i should try and get over another?

Any help would be much appreciated.

THankx
Ryan

------------------
'88 MJ ~6" Lift. 4.10 fr&rr, 33" Mud King XT

·
Registered
391 Posts
I dont know much about the diesels but in a gas burner you'd probably get a 4L80 tranny and a np241 tcase. The 3/4 tons came with a 14 bolt semifloater in the rear and corporate 8.25 IFS diff up front.Pros are fairly strong frame, TBI engine and roomy interior and a good body style. Cons are obviosly the IFS suspension and the cost of the lift kits for them, the ball joints and idler arms wear very quickly when modified and they require wheel alignments almost everytime you come back from wheelin (atleast thats my experience)if you go 3/4 the only traction adding device available for the front is a pricy ARB(nothing for the 1/2 tons)and there size on the trail, if your used to a jeep it could take a bit to get used to. If you leave it stock they're really dependable.You'll pay alot more for a diesel but in my opinion its worth it, my grandfather had a 6.5 turbodiesel version and it got nearly twice the mileage mine gets(sure, he drove like a grandpa...but still). Hope that helps

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thankx, That does help.