BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to buy a Ranger, probably a 94. I want to lift it to fit 33" tires, so I am guessing maybe a 4" lift might do? I am brand new to the truck thing, so I have turned to you guys and gals for help. Does anyone know what this should roughly cost me, including tires?
Thanks.

·
Registered
261 Posts
Steve is right ,the ranger station has lots of good information. ive got a 91 ranger that im goin to be building up after the samurai is complete. I was after the skyjacker lifts cause they have the 6" lift that has new radius arms and rear leaf springs, instead of dropped brackets and blocks. Or i might be putting a EB dana44 under the front,ive heard its a pretty easy swap. My $.02

------------------
4 By High

·
Registered
228 Posts
James Duff - 3"
Rancho - 3"
Trailmaster - 4"
BDS - 4 & 6"
Superlift - 4 & 6"
Skyjacker - 4 & 6"

I had a James Duff - awesome quality and ride - and a Superlift 6" - choppy ride and poor quality. I've heard Skyjacker is good. I'm currently running a solid axle swap, definitely the best option. And not any more expensive than a Superlift, etc.

Make sure to buy a 4.0L with the Dana35 and 8.8". With the newer body style 33's should fit a 4" with minor fender trimming.

If you're looking for travel, buy extended radius arms. Seriously though, call Al at 4offrd and talk to him about a solid axle swap. Well worth the money to do it right the first time. I went through 2 lifts before I figured it out!

Cheers
Dale

------------------
1992 Ford Exploder
6" lift, solid Dana44, 33's

"Soccer mom's car on 'roids"

·
Registered
11 Posts
What exactly is a solid axel swap and does it give you more travel? Alow bigger tires? How much does it cost? (I have a 96 Ranger)

Why is it better than lifting?

Just curious, I was thinking about lifting mine but if that is the way to go please give more info! ": )

Dave

·
Registered
228 Posts
Solid axle swap.
Cost - Not cheap