BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first off don't say it is a bad idea just cause you would be afraid to fabricate or don't wheel in terrain requiring extreme clearance
not that it isn't fun wherever you go and what you go in. I know all the specs 69.5" wide in front 69" in rear drum to drum 7.56.1 gears cable activated lockers 5.5 inches more clearance than a D60 you can put the front steer on rear axles no prob (bolt on) tourqe tube no prob, I'm a Appentice Machinist I know all the camber caster specs. I know about the axle shafts and how they are designed to twist a certain amount just lookin for opinions Oh thier strength is said to be stronger than a D70

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
Other than the price (the axles themselves, and replacement parts) and fabricating needed to be done...I don't know of any downsides over a D70 or 60.

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
if you get them at a wrecking yard they should cosy about 500-1000 depending on condition and a machine shop should be able to machine a pinion flange/seal for about 200 per axle so your lookin at about 2400 for both plus fabricating suspension and steering still cheaper than buying custom axles

·
Superfly
8,221 Posts
Greg W said:
Weight, and the gear reduction ratio in those things would be 2 downsides.
If you're looking for axles in that strength range, the weight isn't out of line. Switching to discs like Rob did (his company, EXAXT makes disc conversion kits) would shave off some of the weight, too.

The portal hubs would require very strong control arms to keep the axle wrap under check.

Gear reduction would also be an issue if this were going to be driven on the hwy, especially since the portal gears aren't rated for high rpms. I think Rob is going a bit beyond the max recommended rpms when he is doing 100km/h.