BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My buddies looking to buy a LC here in Kelowna...

72 FJ40, 123k (I think), bone stock, engine seems strong, tub is gutted from rust and the frame is cracked through near the rear spring perches (both sides)
The guy is asking 1600

Opinions?

------------------
88 4runner, 22RE, stock and slow for now...

·
Registered
56 Posts
now I am no expert but I do know that the steel on those frames is almost a quarter inch thick. In order to be cracked in front of the hangers like that I would say that it has been ABUSED hard. he could probably find one in better shape for less. just my opinion

------------------
wheels, passenger side, roof, drivers side, wheels. am I broken? no . that was fun!

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
I hiust went through the same thing while looking for another project.
Thats to much money for one thing.
Cruiser frames can rust where that one has rusted, when they do it's junk.
I however do have a very nice frame for sale!!!!!
Walk away from this one, if you want a project try looking for a 75 or newer.
This way you can get the 2F 6cyl with the much better oiling system, ambulance doors, 4-speed tranny, disc brakes, stronger frames, ect.

------------------
75 FJ40, 4 inch BDS springs,1inch body, 35's, detroit locker, power steering, disc brakes, 3spd low range gears, full cage, XD9000i, extended shackles, dual batteries....you get the idea.

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, he bought it this afternoon when I was in class

Anyways, he ended up getting it for 1325 and I guess the guy had some landcruiser frames sitting in the yard (like 3-4 of them) and he threw that in as well. Don't know why he didn't mention it earlier though...

Anyone have a project one for me for a cheap price???

------------------

·
Registered
416 Posts
Would your friend maybe want to sell one of thoughs spare frames he got? I am interested in buying one.