BC 4x4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
When I first bought my samurai I thought the ride was rough with the stock leaf springs...then I lifted it with the TG 3" leafs and the ride got even worse. The common problem with the samurai is that the front springs are too short and have a way too stiff spring rate.

So to fix the problem I decided to build a coil spring suspension for the front as my final project at school (I am a Mechanical Engineering Student).

The front end will be kept really simple. I will be using QA1 universal coil springs, Doetsch Tech pre-runner shocks (built in bump stop), TG Creeper Joints, and some DOM tubing. I will be using the samurai front axle for now, but I will be making extra brackets for a toyota front end so that a swap will be really easy in the future.

As for the setup, I originally thought about doing a 3 link, but after taking some time measuring clearances under the truck I figured that a radius arm would work best and have the least amount of clearance issues. Also, the lift will be kept to a minimum as I don't want the truck to be out of control on the street. I will be aiming for a 4-6 inch lift overall. To acheive this I will be using either 10 or 12 inch length coils. A nice feature of using the QA1 springs is that they come in 2 inch increments from 4-14 inch and can be easily changed out if I want extra lift.

The goal of the suspension is to have something that is good on and off the road. I am not building a rock crawler, I just want something reliable and comfortable that I can use for fishing and camping.

I'll post pics of the design and parts as they come...

Chris.

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
First off:

:worthless_without_p

... so please do post pics even of the "before" variaty.

Second: It's good to see another Suzuki based project here.