BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

From when I was 16 to 21 I had a 78 Land Cruiser that I built all by myself (full frame off, 3.5 inch lift, 33's). Being a poor student I was in need of a vehicle that was fuel effient and wasn't always broken. In came the VW, its faster, cheaper and more reliablr that the TLC, but its not a 4x4. Now after 6 months of farugnugen, I want a kidney jarring ride again. So if you guys could tell me the weak points of a sidekick are that would be great. And also I have a set of 235/75/R15 Super Diggers lying around what would it take to fit them? I was thinking 2" coil spacer with a body lift. One more question, how high can I lift the body without having to worry about new break lines?

Thanks,
from your new friend mike.

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Welcome to the Board "Need_a_4wd"

First off, you will fit 235's onto a stock Kick without rubbing on the body. They will rub on the frame a little, but only when you crank your wheels all the way right or left, not a biggy. I drove like that for 2 years and there was no issues.

As for weak points, I found when you leave the suspention alone the truck is very reliable. I had no brakage at all with stock suspention. All stock drive shaft angles and CV angles are nice on the Sidekick. I've beat on it hard... and I mean it... and nothing ever went.

The largest weakness on the stock truck is the clearance, that's for sure. However all the vital components are tucked nicely over the frame. The frame crossmembers took a lot of pounding, though, so I had to replace one that the transmition sits on (cheep from the scrap yard) as my gear shifter was out of allignment a bit.

Lastly, from my experience the rocker panels are way low, so they get dragged over rocks all the time. Due to that problem I decided to go for the 2" body lift. (No brakeline issues there) The body lift allowed me to put the nurf bars, so no more body damage.