BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to the 4x4 world. Just bought a '92 Nissan. How do I find out the biggest set of tires I can put on it with out any modifications?
I am also thinking of putting a small body lift in it. Is it something a rookie truck owner can do easily?
Obviously if I do put a body lift on it then I can fit slightly bigger tires. How would I find out what size I can fit then?

Thanks

·
Registered
66 Posts
Here is a picture of my old Nissan. I had 2" blocks in the back and I cranked up the tortion bars a bit for about 1 1/2" of lift in the front. I fit 31's no problem I probably could have fit 32's. With a body lift you could probably fit 33's.

·
Registered
66 Posts
If you want crank up the tortion bars, find where the tortion bars connect to the cross member. There is a bolt on each one. You just tighten the bolts and measure how high the truck is raised. I wouldnt go any higher than about 1 1/2" of lift. I didnt have any problems with mine, but like Jarret said it may wear things out. I dont think you get as much travel out of the suspension with them cranked up either. I also agree with Jarret its best to get the proper lift. :)

·
Premium Member
1,362 Posts
susp lifts are probably going to be expensive for a Nissan, because they aren't very comon to lift. What sixe tires are you wanting to fit on it? Perhaps just a 2" body lift will let you fit 31" tires. the best thing to do is call a few shops and ask questions about what is available for your truck, or perhaps there is a Nissan club somewhere out there and you could ask them. From what I know, Most small lifts are just bolt on. I'm sure you can find someone on here willing to give you a hand if you want help doing it.

·
Registered
47 Posts
31's come stock on SE Pathys and Hardbody Trucks. Do you have 235's or 31's now?