BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My brother is looking to purchase a 89 GMC Tracker. Me being a Jeep driver I need info from the Suki guys. It has approx. 180,000 kms, 4X4 with front manual locking hubs, 5 speed trany, soft top, EFI. I think it is a 1.6L??? asking price $3600.00

We test drove the Tracker and put it through all the gears and into 4 high and low and eveything looks ok. I did notice a bit of oil leak but don't know where. By the looks it has not been offroad, couldn't find any caked on mud in the usual hard to clean places.

What are the usually problems with the 89s and what should he be looking for before purchasing? where could the oil leak be? Are the Trackers a good little 4X4 for offroading? Low on power/torque? if purchased what should be the few things he should do to get it ready for some offroad fun (type of lift, tires size without trimming) and any other types of information would be great......

thks

------------------
86 XJ 2.8L V6 (just rebuilt), Procomp 3 inch lift w/ 31s, Crane Ignition, MSD coil, K&N filter.

·
Registered
207 Posts
don't no much about sidekicks but, it is a 1.6L, 16 valve DOHC. And it has the same hp and torque as a Toyota 22R, so no lack in power.

------------------
The beast must feast

·
Registered
61 Posts
It's a 80 hp sohc not dohc even the 16 valve is only single cam with 97 hp the new 2.0 tracker is a dohc with 127 hp the old 8 valve motors are not to hard to find if you need one, just make sure you have a rust free tub or your into a lot of

·
Registered
207 Posts
my mistake, he's buying a tracker, not a sidekick.

------------------
The beast must feast

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are there any common problems with this engine or Tracker in general?

------------------
86 XJ Procomp 3 inch lift w/ 31s, Crane Ignition, MSD coil, K&N filter, Electric Fan.

·
Registered
1,889 Posts