BC 4x4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok before the work starts I'll be looking to buy a Mig welder and I need some input on what size and features I should be looking for, as well as brand advice. I won't have a ton of cash to throw at this, I'd rather save for parts so I'm thinking $1000 to $1500 at the most for a complete rig. I don't think this will get me into anything like a new Millermatic 210, which looks it would be the best size and feature set for now and anything I might need in the future. When it comes to buying a used machine how do you tell a good buy from junk, is there anyway to tell?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Im a certified welder .
I would recomend the miller 210 you can weld 22 gauge to 3/8" plate in one pass. its a great home welder, praxx-air has the cheapest price on these welders right now. 1500 for the welder and an optional 400 for the aluninum gun.( Im pretty sure thats the sale price I remember?)

·
Superfly
8,221 Posts
Spudzz said:
Ok before the work starts I'll be looking to buy a Mig welder and I need some input on what size and features I should be looking for, as well as brand advice. I won't have a ton of cash to throw at this, I'd rather save for parts so I'm thinking $1000 to $1500 at the most for a complete rig. I don't think this will get me into anything like a new Millermatic 210, which looks it would be the best size and feature set for now and anything I might need in the future. When it comes to buying a used machine how do you tell a good buy from junk, is there anyway to tell?
Call me biased but...the Air Liquide M170 would be perfect for any kind of 4x4 work you'd have in mind. It'll be within your price range. If you show up at the upcoming Air Liquide, welding class, they will probably sell them at a healthy discount.